CC33

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

CC33

4 posters

Do you think men and women get treated the same in movies, books and TV?

Supernova
    Supernova
    The Book Chamber
    The Book Chamber

Female
    Rep : 182

Do you think men and women get treated the same in movies, books and TV? Empty Do you think men and women get treated the same in movies, books and TV?

Post by Supernova Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:20 am

Ha! That's a joke right from the start, isn't it? This is something I've been thinking about for quite some time now.

I was having a discussion with my brother one day about a year back, I'm a writer, not professionally, I haven't been published yet, I've only finished one novel I've started...but I digress...in my stories the main characters are usually women and not the typical sort either, their whole life doesn't revolve around if they get married, if they find the right guy, if they can get past their drinking/drug problem, if they can move on from the years of physical/sexual abuse they endured at the hands of...somebody for so long...my stories don't have any of that. In my books, the women are always on the same front line of all the action as the men, and they play as well as the guys. My brother disagrees with this idea, he calls it affirmative action to have women up front in everything. I disagree, and I told him why: